close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

AAAHH!!!HELP!!!greenhorn steelheader needs advice

Discussion in 'Northeast Ohio Fishing Reports' started by TPaco214, Feb 15, 2005.

1. yo i hope some of you experienced guys can help me out some. I go to Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland and am wondering where would be the best place to go for some good quality steelhead action in the Cleveland area. I just got a car up here and brought my fishing gear up in hopes of fishing during the weekends. I've gone a few times I think in Conneaut creek but i didn't catch anything. I'm new to the game so what are some good tactics? But what I need to know most is where to go and directions on how to get there (specific spots). Don't worry---I'll be fishing by myself so I won't blab about any good honey holes. Thanks

2. I would ask about the Rocky River....I personally don't know specific holes on that one....

But the Chagrin river is a good spot at Gilson Park across from Lost Nation Rd. off Rt.2 in Willouhby. Then upriver from there is a place called Todd Field. It's the rt.20 bridge over the chagrin. There are holes all along there..then even up further off rt.84 is Daniels Park where the old hydro dam used to be until this winter.....need waders for there though...not sure how much of a hole is left there since the dam collapsed....

On the Grand River, try at the rt. 20 and rt.90 bridges .....gotta get there early though....also the old Painesville dam up in downtown painesville..can't remember name of rd. but there is a Key Bank on the corner of it.....down that road there is a bridge, underneath is where the old dam was...and still is a nice hole...that is where all the tournament leaders have gotten the big fish.....

I have had luck at Conneaut before.....I hear they do good in the creeks by Geneva State Park also...Cowles creek and wheeler creek i believe they are called....

Good luck...

steely123