Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,051 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
As my Garmin 498 Chartplotter has terrible fish finder capabilities I will be installing a dedicated fish fish finder. We fish the central basin of Lake Erie.

I do not want to spend more than $300~$350 and have decided on one of two

Hummingbird 596c HD DI for $349

http://www.thedigitaloasis.com/Humm...n-Imaging-Fishfinder_p_3838.html#.UhuUIdKsiSp

Or, the Hummingbird 596c HD for $305.

[ame="http://www.ebay.com/itm/Humminbird-596c-HD-Color-Sonar-Fishfinder-407910-1-/350647523061?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item51a43896f5"]Humminbird 596C HD Color Sonar Fishfinder 407910 1 082324032981 | eBay[/ame]

I am not too technically savy regarding fish finders but I want a unit that will meet my fishing needs (max 60 fow Lake Erie) and add some value to the boat when I sell it in a few years.

I am leaning towards the DI unit. Is this a no brainer?

·
Registered
2,579 Posts
OSUdaddy,
I am just starting to get use to my new Humminbird 858 HD DI unit, two trips now on lake Erie. If I had to do it over again, I believe I would have gotten just the HD and not the DI. I guess if your going to fish other lake besides the big E then the DI may be beneficial, but in my opinion and we all know what that can go into, I would stay with the HD unit. Save a few bucks for getting something else.
My 2 cents,
Ron

·
Registered
2,051 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Ron. I have some folks telling me it is beneficial at times to use (the DI option) but not normally an option the use. I understand I can go to just HD mode or use split screen (not an option I like to use) and with the $44 difference between HD and HD DI leans me towards the DI.

I appreciate your feedback and I may end up changing my mind.

·
Boatless
914 Posts