45 Cal. Muzzleloader Question

Discussion in 'Guns and Ammo' started by Four Weight Fanatic, Dec 22, 2008.

1. I use a 45. cal. T/C Blackdiamond ML, I shoot 180 gr. Hornady jacketed solids whith a sabot backed with 2 50 gr. Pyrodex pellets ignited by Federal primers. I have been using this combo for about 5 years and have been having problems with bullet expansion. I have tried to tweak the load, tried different sabots, primers and powders (both pellets and granular). The combo I'm using performs great on targets (avg. 1.25" at 100 yds.) but bullet expansion is terrible on deer. I've narrowed the problem down to the bullet and am looking for anyone who uses a 45 cal. bullets other than hornady? Any advice?

2. Lundy

Lundy Staff Member

I assume you mean no to little expansion.

I would suggest that you try the 195 gr Barnes expanders. The Knight RedHots are the Barnes expander bullets.

If you can not find those try the 200 gr Shockwaves

Both of these are proven very effective deer killers with good accuracy.

The Barnes would be my preference if shoulder shots are the norm.

3. I have the exact same gun. I have a great load that has dropped 15-20 deer. Great expansion and flat shooting. 6-8" drop at 200 yds. I shoot 110 grains of pyrodex pellets. 1 50 grain pellet and 2 30 grain pellets. (30 grain pellets come in can, says for pistols) I load the 50 grain first then the 2 30 grain pellets. I shoot the 195 grain barnes expanders. You will have to order those from Cabelas. Only place I can find them. They are tough to get down the barrel, but shoot great. Dropped over 60% of the deer on impact. Expand great leaving lots of short blood trails. I think they are called barnes expander spitfires. Also use CCI 209M magnum primers. I wouldn't shoot anything else out of that gun. Even if the powder and sabots are hard to find.