20 More days of school!

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by lg_mouth, Feb 4, 2009.

1. lg_mouth

lg_mouth It's Trigger Time!!!

Well, looks like we might get 20 more days of school out of our governor. He didn't actually say how schools were going to pay for it with the added transportation costs, cooling costs, renogotiated staff and teacher contracts, etc. Looks like a ploy to make our schools look better without actually making a bit of difference. I believe it was stated that adding 20 days would bring us up to the international average for school days. I am a teacher and will tell you there are countless things wrong with our education system here in Ohio, but number of days isn't one of them.

So, what do you guys think of this plan?

Lg_mouth

2. One of my best friends is a teacher and it kills me every summer to know he's out fishing while I'm stuck @ work. Plus 20 less days of child care for the rugrats. I am all for it!!!

Actually I heard it would have a huge impact on anyone or any business that relies on summer income. You have teachers that may pick up additional income in the summer, High school students with summer jobs, the assumement parks.. etc, etc. So in these economic times I can't see making it through.

I agree with Lg_mouth the numerous problems with our education system are not the number of school days.

3. Fishin' Coach

Fishin' Coach Wall I ETR

As a teacher myself I must admit there are many problems with the Gov new education Plan...

Since the "20 days" is the topic here I'll try and stick to that part.

1st of all as teachers we are paid a per-deim rate per day worked. Those who think teachers are paid for their summers off are sadly mistaken. We are paid for days worked just like everyone else, our paychecks are divided over 12 months but we are only truly paid for 9.