close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

2 questions

Discussion in 'Muskie & Pike Discussions' started by tomb, Oct 5, 2007.

1. tomb

tomb Tom B.

How fast can you troll Grandma's and Believer's? I have no trouble with Jakes, Depthraider's, and Super Shad Raps, but can't get the others to run right. I've been doing best at 4.3-4.6 m.p.h.

Anyone tried one of the baits for sale at West Branch Bait and Tackle? I bought one of the deep divers in firetiger. It has a strange action. Instead of a side to side wobble, it darts rapidly up and down a short distance.

2. BigDaddy300

BigDaddy300 multi species angler

I am just learning the muskie thing myself, so I do not know much. I do know that the grandmas do not run good at a fast speed.

3. tomb

tomb Tom B.

Thanks for the response BigDaddy300. It's a shame not to be able to get them to run good. I have some in some good looking patterns. I just don't get any hits at slower speeds.

4. Have you tried tuning the lures?

5. tomb

tomb Tom B.

Yes. Is there more to tuning them than a typical crankbait? They run fine at 3.5 m.p.h. But not any faster.

6. BITE-ME

BITE-ME Muskie Addict

Even though Believers advertise that they are a high speed trolling lure, only about half of mine will work at speeds greater than 4mph - Even after extensive tunning. Sometime you just get a bumb lure.

Good luck trying to run the smaller Grandmas (assuming 6" Grandma jerkbait) at higher speeds. They are more of a casting lure. If you want a Grandma to troll, try the larger 8" to 10" models or the Grandma Classic crank bait (looks like a Lil Ernie).

7. tomb

tomb Tom B.

I do have a six inch Grandma, but have tried the 9" and 10" ones more. So, I just need to play around with the tuning more?

8. fffffish

fffffish Muskie 1 Trolling Thunder

The 6 inch will run over 7mph when tuned right. I have had the 9 and 10 up to 5.3mph

9. tomb

tomb Tom B.