close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

1988 Johnson seahorse 35 hp reverse issues!

Discussion in 'Boats and Motors' started by BigCatDaddy, Jun 26, 2008.

1. When trying to go to reverse when loading the trailer my motor just keeps clicking like the reverse wont engage! If i rev it up and finally it will go but the the motor jumps out of water! Any clue what the problem might be?:B Im kinda new with even having a boat so please speak english, i would prefer hillbillish! lol later

2. Ðe§perado™

Ðe§perado™ Catfisherman/Bowfisherman

Sounds like you might of got water in the lower unit.

3. So how would i fix that problem?

4. Im completely retarded when it comes to boat motors!

5. OSU_Fisherman

OSU_Fisherman Bassin' Buckeye

The clicking is most likely due to you not engaging it hard enough. The throttle has an area where it is shifting into gear and an area where it gives more gas. You have to pull it through the shifting part rather quickly so the gears engage properly... then give it more throttle. You can play with the shifter while the motor is off for a few seconds and you'll be able to feel the 2 'zones'. The faster you move through the shifting zone the less clicking you'll hear.

As far as the motor lifting out of the water... this happened to me when my motor was not tilted into the water enough. Lower the motor some and give it slightly less throttle.

6. Yeah i know about the 2 positions! When i bring the throttle back to the initial engage it starts clicking, then i bring it into the throttle up and it is almost full throttle before it engages, then the motor that is all the way down position and locked jumps straight up! I just couldnt figure it out! thanks

7. I just want to get several suggestions on what it might be! I will try them all! I can work on anything but when it comes to general knowledge of boat motors i have no clue!