14 footer safe?

Discussion in 'Boats and Motors' started by tm1669, Feb 15, 2009.

1. Im looking at getting a boat for perchin and walleye if their not to far out .I saw a 14 foot deep v for sale. Is this a safe boat Lake Erie if I dont wander to far out adn use my head as far as conditions. A longer boat in the same hull design would be more stable I would think but is 14 feet not safe?
    I'm kinda new to boats with motors (kayaker) so any help/advice is much appreaciated.

2. When i was a kid my grandfather used to take my uncle and i out on erie in a rented 12' boat with a 9.9 moter. Guess what im sayin is if you use your head you shouldn't have a problem. just my .02

3. You can catch alot of perch and walleye in a 14 foot boat, I have with my 14 foot starcraft and 15 hp Johnson.I will tell you there are not many days wear Erie is calm enough to safely fish with a 14 footer. You have to think about other boaters like 30-40 ft boats that will drive past and throw you a 4ft wake:C. I bought a 16.5 ft lund with 50 hp motor and it has higher sides and the beam is wider for these two reasons it handles the waves a whole lot better than my 14 ft v bottom.In the OGF market place a 16ft Blue-Fin with 65 mercury outboard was listed for $2000.This is just an example of what I would look for if I were in your shoes looking for a small but safe boat to fish near shore. If you want to take a test ride in a 14 or 16.5 boat before you buy one send me a pm I will be fishing as soon as a ramp opens up.

Angler ss.

4. Seaturd

Seaturd Catcher of Fish

IMO, it's a darn rare day that a 14 footer is safe to take out on Mother Erie. I see them out there but I'd shoot for 16' bare minimum with a reliable 25 hp or bigger engine.