Ohio Game Fishing

Go Back  Ohio Game Fishing Community > Ohio Fishing Reports > Lake Erie Fishing Reports >

copper line dive curves

Lake Erie Weather | Lake Erie Wave Forcasts & Temps| Free Maps & Charts| Lake Erie Lake Cams| Charter Captains| Marinas & Dealers| Lodging

this forum is sponsored by: South Shore Marine

Old 02-22-2008, 03:12 PM   #1
Rik
"Reel Eyes"

Default copper line dive curves

Does anyone have good depth info for copper?I have used leadcore on inland lakes for years and know thru my own testing and experience what it does...They say 30# copper runs 5-6 ft. with 10 yds out...but they don't give @ what speed this occurs...I'm thinking it's more at salmon trollers speed like 2.5-3.5mph..since it has been more popular with the salmon guys...so I'm thinking since they say it definatly dives faster than leadcore...I am wondering if those numbers are a little deeper like 6-7 ft. of depth with 10 yds out @ speeds I like to troll say 1.5-2.5.I am just getting into fishing on erie so looking at ways of getting those spoons into that 30-50' range.Anyone done any testing to see what copper dives to at a given length and speed?Would like feedback from anyone with experience with copper..thanks
Rik is offline   Reply With Quote

Register today to remove this advertisement IT'S FREE

Old 02-22-2008, 03:37 PM   #2
hunt-n-fish

Default Copper

We use it on Lake Ontario and it does work. Basically, it'll achieve similar depths, and deeper, with lot less line out. 10 colors leadcore (300') with the knot to the water, 50 ft. mono leader and spoon will get down 40-45'. Copper will do it with only 250' or so. Being deeper with less line out compared to leadcore, we can run both rigs together w/o much incidents.

Be careful not to allow kinking when using it.
hunt-n-fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 03:56 PM   #3
BFG

150' of 30# copper = 10 colors of lead ( 40-50' down) at normal trolling speeds (2.0-2.5mph).