Ohio Game Fishing

Notices

Go Back  Ohio Game Fishing Community > Discuss your favorite species! > Bass Discussions >

Winter river fishing smallies

Old 10-04-2012, 01:08 PM   #1
FishermanMurph

Default Winter river fishing smallies

So I'm new to this river fishing for smallmouths (usually fish lakes in areas I've lived at before) and I been having a blast catching some nice smallies, especially from LMR. But I got wondering this past weekend....how is the fishing in rivers once winter hits? Are they hugging the bottom of deep pools? Are they still catchable? I do need to get some waders to wade the shallow parts (normally fish from my kayak but do have spots I need to walk) but would love to hit the river on a nice winter day.

And I can't believe I'm talking winter already.

"May the holes in your net be no larger than the fish in it." ~Irish Blessing
FishermanMurph is offline   Reply With Quote

Register today to remove this advertisement IT'S FREE

Old 10-04-2012, 08:44 PM   #2
stak45dx1

i don't know much about fishing for smallies in rivers, but i do know a thing or two about wading rivers in the winter (for steelhead in lake erie tributaries) ... if you need to get in the water you're going to need waders. lol. that water is darn cold even if you're in neoprenes. you might be able to get away with some good waterproof boots if its not too deep, but you don't want to be wet if you're out in the cold of ohio's winters.
stak45dx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 11:57 AM   #3
FishermanMurph

I'm also thinking waterproof boots since only time I'll be getting out is in very low water. But still won't mind some good waders. I've fished the streams and other waters around Erie Pa for steelhead also and I got pretty good idea of how cold that water gets

"May the holes in your net be no larger than the fish in it." ~Irish Blessing
FishermanMurph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 12:08 PM   #4
Bubbagon
Who?