Ohio Game Fishing

Go Back  Ohio Game Fishing Community > Ohio Fishing Reports > Northeast Ohio Fishing Reports >

Chagrin River Question???

Old 08-26-2010, 12:45 PM   #1
Katanafreak

Default Chagrin River Question???

Ok. I figured i would go check out the Chagrin River today to see if i could go fishing there. I went to the Chagrin Lake Park and walked the trail and i just dont see how the world any fish could be in that river? at the middle of the lake the water level was 12'' at best? i followed the river and most of it was about 6'' deep. What am i missing here? i tried to follow the river more but the park ended. Where are people fishing in this river at? and what are they catching? I am new to fishing so i am just trying to get some info if this is a dumb question please feel free to delete it. I just dont understand how you can catch some of the fish people say they ae catching in 6'' of water???
Katanafreak is offline   Reply With Quote

Register today to remove this advertisement IT'S FREE

Old 08-26-2010, 12:58 PM   #2
KSUFLASH
respect our rivers please

At this moment the Chagrin Flow is at 58 CFS. That is a pretty low flow. The areas that hold fish during low flow times will be the deep holes. They may not be very apparent to the naked eye. As the fall rain comes, the flow of the rivers will begin comming up, and those dry land areas you see will be covered with water.

When I say deep holes, they may only be 3' deep, but that is a deep hole compared to the rest of the water you are looking at. When the flows of the rivers come up, that hole goes from 3' to 5' or greater.

Depending on the species of fish you are looking to catch, will determine where you would want to begin looking for them. With the heat of the summer, most fish are gonna be looking for shade, so if you find the areas of the stream with overhanging trees this would be a good place to start. Also look for those downed trees in the river.